What Steps Should Someone Take After They Have Been Injured Due To Someone Else’s Negligence?
After an injury, be sure to get evaluated by a healthcare provider as soon as possible. You have 14 days to make a claim under the PIP coverage of your insurance policy for your car. In order to build your case, you need to have all your medical injuries documented, so it is important to go to a provider or a hospital.
Should I Hire A Personal Injury Attorney Right Away Or Wait To See What The Insurance Company Offers Me?
It is important that you get an advocate for your claim as soon as possible. The insurance adjusters have one job and that is to close and pay the claim as quickly and as cheaply as possible. That does not include your interests; their interests are the insurance company’s. It is important to at least go to an attorney and get advice as to what steps you need to take.
What Evidence Is Going To Help My Personal Injury Case? What Could Be Used Against Me?
Make sure you take pictures of both vehicles at the scene along with the at fault driver’s license and insurance card. Also, any bumps or bruises you may have on your body the same day and days following should be photographed. Always call the police and make a report, even if the other driver begs you not to, and do not apologize for anything. An apology can be used as an admission of guilt, even if you are just trying to be kind. If you feel like the other driver may leave the scene, take a picture of their license plate.
What Is The Statute Of Limitations Or Time Limit To File A Personal Injury Claim In Florida?
You have four years from the date of the accident to file a claim.
How Important Is Seeking Timely Medical Attention And Properly Documenting All Injuries For My Personal Injury Claim?
You need to get medical attention within 14 days of the accident for insurance coverage. It also helps prove that there was an injury that was actually caused by that particular accident and not an injury that happened at a later time. If you are claiming that your shoulder hurts badly and you don’t get evaluated within a few days of the accident, then when you go back a month later, it looks like something else happened within that month.
What Should I Do If The Other Party’s Insurance Contacts Me And Asks For A Statement?
Do not give a statement to the other insurance company, especially if you are not represented. Speak to an attorney first. The insurance company is trying to get you to record a statement that you will not be prepared to give. They will ask you questions that you will not be ready for. Your attorney will sit with you during the statement and talk to you beforehand to let you know what kind of questions you are going to be asked.
What Defenses Do Insurance Companies Use To Avoid Paying Out On Personal Injury Claims?
Some defenses that insurance companies use are that the injuries were prior or age-related, that there wasn’t enough treatment, or that the injured person was at fault.
What Compensation Or Damages Are Possible To Recover In A Personal Injury Claim In Florida?
You can recover for medical bills, wage loss, future medical costs, lost income, future earning capacity, required home modifications to accommodate your injury, the cost of fixing your vehicle, scarring, disability, or loss of bodily function.
How Is The Worth Of A Serious Injury Claim Calculated Or Determined?
The value of your case is based on your medical bills, your future medical treatment, the income lost, and other damages. If you are unable to work at all anymore, they will base it on what work you did and how many people were dependent on you.
How Long Does It Take To Receive Funds After A Settlement Has Been Reached In A Personal Injury Claim?
Usually, insurance companies will try to get the check out as soon as possible after a settlement. As soon as possible can take up to 20 days. Once the check gets to the firm, it is deposited into a trust fund and Florida bar requires 10 days for it to clear. In the meantime, we are trying to negotiate any outstanding bills or liens on medical debts that were incurred, and we get everyone paid. After everyone is paid, the check is sent out to the client.
What Factors Do You Consider In Determining Whether Or Not To Take A Personal Injury Case To Trial?
We determine what the case is reasonably worth. We will find out what the policy limit is and send a demand out for a reasonable amount based on the injuries’ documentation. There are times when the insurance company refuses to tender that amount and we never recommend to my clients to take a lower amount than what the case is worth. At that point, I would recommend filing a lawsuit.
For more information on Steps To Take After Being Injured In Florida, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (727) 645-6683 today.
Call Now For A Free No Obligation Consultation